Imagination

Somewhere between working a 9 to 5 job
And trying to keep my sanity afloat
I came to view my imagination
As more of a wild beast
Than some sort of domesticated pet.
It started out as a kennel I visited daily,
Appreciating the beauty and softness of this animal,
But the wilder my imagination became,
The more precautions I had to take.

My creativity went from a hamster on a wheel
To a snarling saber cat
Quicker than I could snap a lock
On the cage.

One day it lay dormant,
Basking in what little sunlight
Peeked through the blinds of darkness
That shuttered my mind,
And I decided a few minutes uncaged
Would be just fine.

What the hell was I thinking?

Kristin Howell
4/24/2017

Leave a Reply

