little lamb

they warn you of
the boy who cried wolf,
but i’m more afraid of
the girl who cried sheep;
the one that made me care
and made me cry
ugly tears
in the glow of
my laptop screen.
i never doubted
her innocence
or her state of
mind, but maybe
i should be more
careful with where
i place my bets;
she won
the whole pot
and i was left with
nothing but a bruise
and a nasty ache
just beneath my
ribs, though it didn’t
quite make it to
my heart.
she was a little
lamb with the bite
of a bear,
and i was
easy prey.

Leave a Reply

