Invitation

She sees the rain
outside her window
and feels dreary,
hunkering down for
a day in bed
with hot chocolate
and a sad book,
but for me,
the rain is
an invitation
to dance,
to move my body
and my soul
to the music
of each drop
in ways
I never thought
possible.

The rain is
pounding
on my heart
and I feel more alive
than I have in
years,
dancing the first
dance
since I was a little
girl, standing
on my dad’s
shoes,
wearing nothing
but a smile
and a new pair
of diapers,
ready to
take on the
world.

Now I’m in
yoga pants,
taking on
the world
one thunderstorm
at a time.

via Daily Prompt: Invitation

Leave a Reply

